Who were the stars of infrastructure in 2013?

Infrastructure Investor’s Annual Awards are going great guns – with many categories still too close to call.

It is a tribute to a momentous year for infrastructure that the 2013 edition of our Annual Awards are drawing such enthusiasm. Having received plenty of recommendations in the many categories previous to drawing up the shortlist, our team can now witness a fierce competition between the selected contenders.

A good example of this is provided by the Infrastructure Investor of the Year category, where two of the asset class’ strongest proponents share an equal share of the votes. Rarely a dull one to watch, the category is certainly staging a particularly exciting contest this year – with investors making a splash in the asset class for the first time, sealing ever bigger direct deals or picking up the best of this year’s high-profile auctions.

The Personality of the Year Award remains a similarly tough call. Whether it be the ability to draw wide political support for the asset class, complete a record fundraising, revamp and redefine a firm, or muster innovation in the realm of partnerships, there’s accolades left and right for the asset class’ most visible champions.

Contenders are also neck on neck in the Deal, PPP and Fundraising of the Year categories. Infrastructure has strong tailwinds behind it – and with such a wealth of significant landmarks completed this year, it’s fair to say that no geographies has yet found clear winners for each of these achievements. True, some contenders have more of a lead in the Placement Agent, Bank and Law Firm of the Year categories – but then we still have a few weeks to go, and this can easily be reversed.

And then there’s the Global Fund Manager of the Year category. All of this year’s selected firms have serious achievements under their belt – from a vision in social infrastructure and partnerships to dealmaking and fundraising prowess – and so far all share a similar size of the popular vote.

All in all, there still remains plenty to be played for, and enough time for you to decide who should be the winners. You can do so by clicking here to cast your vote.

In the meantime, we take this opportunity to wish you a very happy festive season. 2013 was an exceptional year – and we certainly look forward to the next one.