The II awards: How they came together

The Infrastructure Investor 2010 awards are the result of a month-long, democratic voting process that canvassed the views of our readers on the firms and deals that they considered to be best-of-breed in almost 50 different categories.

The results are in and our 2010 Annual Awards poll – the second of its kind – produced some fascinating results.

Evidence is beginning to emerge of an elite group of firms within the infrastructure investment universe which are generally considered to be on top of their game; these firms each picked up at least one accolade for the second year running:

– Global Infrastructure Partners (fund manager)
– Meridiam Infrastructure (fund manager)
– MENA Infrastructure (fund manager)
– Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (institutional investor)
– GMR Group (developer)
– Odebrecht (developer)
– Eiffage (developer)
– Barclays (bank)
– HSBC (bank)
– Allen & Overy (law firm)
– DLA Piper (law firm)
– Marsh (insurance provider)
– JPMorgan Chase (fund administrator)

At the same time, plenty of new names were in the reckoning, including:

– Antin Infrastructure Partners (fund manager)
– Highstar Capital (fund manager)
– Campbell Lutyens (placement agent)
– Bouygues (developer)
– VINCI (developer)
– VTB Capital (bank)
– Brazilian Development Bank (bank)
– Credit Agricole (bank)
– BNP Paribas (bank)
– Clifford Chance (law firm)
– White & Case (law firm)
– Norton Rose (law firm)
– Deutsche Bank (corporate trust services provider)

In part, this was inevitable, as we introduced several new award categories this time around to reflect the increasing diversity of the asset class. But there was generous recognition for those firms and deals perceived to have moved ahead of their peers, perhaps through sheer presence and name recognition in a given market – or their involvement in innovative transactions.

Once again, we were delighted to note the strong response from voters, which ensured that the outcomes would be truly representative of the industry’s views. The poll was held open through the month of January 2011, and received not only a large and steady number of votes but also a pleasing diversity of voters from within the infrastructure investment community.

Above all, we are proud of the democratic nature of our voting process. After a long period of consultation, the editorial team here at Infrastructure Investor whittled down initial long-lists to short-lists. These short-lists were then put in front of voters – but with an “open” option to name any firm or deal not on the short-list. Several categories saw write-in candidates gain steam, though none of this year's winner triumphed via a write-in campaign.

A final word from Oleg Pankratov, head of infrastructure capital at Russian banking group VTB Capital, which picked up two awards for Global and European PPP Transaction of the Year (Pulkovo Airport): “These awards are the most renowned in the industry and we are proud to receive them.”